Grand Seiko

Born in 1960, Grand Seiko introduced the world to its uniquely designed watches; defining the essence of watchmaking in the elements of precision, beauty, legibility, durability and ease-of-use. The lion has graced the case back of each Grand Seiko watch, symbolizing timepieces that would be “The King of watches”.

The concept of Grand Seiko was born from the desire to build the world’s best watch. Mechanical watches utilize 200-300 individual parts to ensure precision of the movement. Seiko employs Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS) technology, bringing the mechanical accuracy of its parts to the forefront of technology.

Since 2004, their team of skilled watchmakers introduced the world to the unique Spring Drive technology. Spring Drive is a unique movement that combines the high torque of a mechanical watch with the high precision integrated circuit (IC) control system of an electronic watch. The unique signature of a Spring Drive watch is the beautiful and smooth glide motion of its second hand, including an accuracy of ± 15 seconds a month. Calibre 9R01, Calibre 9R96, Calibre 9R16 and Calibre 9R15 surpass even this ideal by ±10 seconds accuracy, equivalent to half a second a day. Spring Drive not only achieves a high level of precision, but also a remarkable 72-hour power reserve, due to advanced electronic and micro-engineering developments. This is amplified in the 9R01 8 Day Calibre watch, delivering up to 8 days of power reserve. For the international traveler, a GMT function and the precision of Spring Drive is a perfect combination, as the accuracy is maintained even when time zone adjustment is made.

The skilled team of Grand Seiko master watchmakers developed the unique Hi-Beat technology, introducing the 9S series. A 10 beat calibre beats at ten times a second, a rate substantially faster than that of ordinary mechanical movements. The faster vibration makes a watch more resilient to shock and more accurate, consuming more power from the mainspring, thus delivering 55 hours of power reserve. The mechanical Hi-Beat 36000 with GMT function is the embodiment of exceptional precision in both time display and GMT function in the Calibre 9S86. The latest Calibre 9S65 delivers a power reserve of 72 hours.

Grand Seiko

Né en 1960, Grand Seiko a présenté au monde ses montres au design unique; tout en définissant l’essence de l’horlogerie en termes de précision, de beauté, de lisibilité, de durabilité et de facilité d’utilisation. Le lion a orné le boîtier de chaque montre Grand Seiko, symbolisant des montres qui seraient «le Roi des montres».

Le concept de Grand Seiko est né du désir de construire la meilleure montre du monde. Les montres mécaniques utilisent 200 à 300 pièces individuelles pour assurer la précision du mouvement. Seiko utilise la technologie Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS), apportant la précision mécanique de ses pièces à la pointe de la technologie.

Depuis 2004, leur équipe d’horlogers qualifiés a présenté au monde une technologie unique s’appelant le Spring Drive. Spring Drive est un mouvement unique qui combine le couple élevé d’une montre mécanique avec le système de commande de circuit intégré de haute précision d’une montre électronique. La signature unique d’une montre Spring Drive est le glissement en douceur de sa trotteuse, avec une précision de ± 15 secondes par mois. Les Calibre 9R01, 9R96, 9R16 et 9R15 dépassent même cette précision de ± 10 secondes, ce qui équivaut à une demi-seconde par jour. Spring Drive atteint non seulement un haut niveau de précision, mais présente également une réserve de marche remarquable de 72 heures, grâce aux développements avancés en électronique et en micro-ingénierie. Ceci est amplifié dans la montre 8 Day Calibre 9R01, délivrant jusqu’à 8 jours de réserve de marche. Pour le voyageur international, une fonction GMT et la précision de Spring Drive sont une combinaison parfaite, car la précision est maintenue même lorsque le réglage du fuseau horaire est effectué.

L’équipe qualifiée de maîtres horlogers de Grand Seiko a aussi développé une technologie unique de Hi-Beat, introduisant la série 9S. Un calibre équipé de 10 temps bat à dix fois par seconde, un rythme sensiblement plus rapide que celui des mouvements mécaniques ordinaires. La vibration plus rapide rend une montre plus résistante aux chocs et plus précise, consommant plus de puissance du ressort, offrant ainsi une réserve de marche de 55 heures. Le Calibre 9S86 démontre une mécanique Hi-Beat 36000 avec fonction GMT, l’incarnation d’une précision exceptionnelle dans l’affichage du temps et la fonction GMT. Ainsi, la plus récente Calibre 9S65 offre une réserve de marche de 72 heures.