Shopping Cart


Your shopping bag is empty

Go to the shop


Bijouterie B.Serkos

we have thrived on offering a broad selection of exceptional jewelry, watches and accessories, all of distinct quality and taste. Our esteemed collections and brands have been selected with your particular taste in mind, surpassing even the highest of expectations. Come choose from our 10-14-18 karat collections, or customize your request with our reputable jewellers. With an eye for quality and respect for tradition, along with exceptional service, we guarantee you a pleasant and satisfying experience..

The Carat

Understanding your Diamond

The mass of a diamond is measured not by its dimensions, but by its weight. One carat, the traditional unit of measurement for diamonds, is 0.2 grams. You may have heard that the weight of a diamond also equates to points. One point is equal to 1/100 of a carat. As a result, a 75 point diamond is equivalent to 0.75 carat. Diamonds of different shapes can have equal weight, depending on their depth and proportions. Larger diamonds are all the more valuable and sought after because of their great rarity.

3 Characteristics


When you think of the cut of a diamond, you probably think of its shape. You are partially right. Although the size refers to the shape, it also refers to the proportions of the size of the diamond. Diamonds are cut from their rough into different shapes, depending on the consumer's guidelines. The most popular shapes include the round, oval, square, princess, emerald, baguette, and marquise shape. Several specialty forms are also available. The proportions of the whole diamond, as well as its size and the arrangement of its many surfaces or facets also play a large role in its "cut". The consistency and balance of these elements also have a great influence on the scintillation of the stone.


With the exception of a few fancy colored diamonds, the most valuable diamonds have the least color. The color scale for transparent diamonds ranges from D to F (colorless), G to J (almost colorless), K to L (barely visible yellow), to Z (pale yellow). Completely colorless diamonds are rare. When diamonds have traces of other minerals, rare and beautiful colors can arise. These "fancy colors" range from blue to bright yellow to red, brown, pale green, pink and purple. Their rarity makes natural colored diamonds highly sought after and can be of great value.


The clarity of a diamond is measured by the presence or absence of visible flaws. Slight surface imperfections or internal inclusions, even those that can only be discerned under the jeweler's magnifying glass, can alter the brilliance of the diamond and, indeed, its value. Clarity levels range from diamond perfection (F, IF), gradually descending to tiny inclusions (VVS1 and 2), to very small inclusions (VS1 and 2), to small inclusions (SI1 and 2) and many inclusions or imperfections (I1, I2 and I3).